The Tile Hall In The Castle Of Wrisbergholzen  

homepage

Tile hall in the castle of  WrisbergholzenThe castle of the barons of Wrisbergholzen in its left wing possesses a hall, which is equipped with approx. 80O tiles since 1749.

68O of these are so-called emblem tiles, whereby each tile in the format 23x27,5 cm corresponds to a special book page in each case. On the basis of the research results of Martin Boyken and Horst Appuhn could be proven the literary collecting mains of the emblem tiles. There are four emblem books of three authors. First almost completely the " Empresas politicas " of the Spanish diplomat Diego Saavedra Fajardo (1584-1648), then the emblems of the Nurembergs physician Joachim Camerarius d.J. (1534-1598) and finally two products of the Netherlands artist and teacher of P.P. Rubens, i.e. Otto van Veen (1556-1629) "Amorum emblemata" and "Emblemata Horatiana", which is a neostoizistic book. 

EmblemflieseAs painter of the tiles, which were manufactured in the factory facing the hall, Johann Christoph Haase is determined, who died here at Oct 18 in 1749. Further painters are in particular not proven.

In contrast to the literary collecting mains the three-part emblem (slogan, picture and Epigramm) is reduced to a two-piece form. The used languages are Latin, French and Italian, refering to three areas of life, i.e. diplomacy, science and art.

Emblemfliese 2Since in Wrisbergholzen documents are missing about the orderer, the picture program and the attachment of the tiles, emergence history must be reconstructed. The emblem tiles are unique ones, intended for the hall in the castle. The hall did not serve as negotiation room with possible customers of the factory; the tiles are also not to be regarded as decoration from remaining products, but the hall served as (summery) dinner room for the baronial, after 1803 then count's family as a "emblematic mind pleasure". Idea-historically it is an expression of the life feeling of a smallnoble family in the middle of the clearing-up time period.

Special interest arouses a cycle from twelve monthly tiles, for which there is no direct literary collecting main. It might be developed as an emblematic invention, sketched in the castle itself and produced in the factory.

Emblemfliese 3In the course of the years the hall was occasionally structurally changed. Individual emblem tiles were partly destroyed particularly at a cabinet wall and at the chimney corner, partlyattached again to other places. To what extent thereby it was substantially intervened in an only outlined recognizable picture program, can be only assumed. Nevertheless the tile hall of Wrisbergholzen may be regarded as a singular example of the so-called applied except-literary emblematics, not only in Northern Germany.

Literature: Johannes Köhler, "Angewandte Emblematik im Fliesensaal von Wrisbergholzen bei Hildesheim", A. Lax publishing house Hildesheim 1988 (ISBN 3-7848.3757-3).


Note: The author of the book and the above article is also member of our association and describes - in the change with further expert club members - the tile hall on the public inspection dates specified on our homepage.




Historic map of 1589
The castle - outline with pictures
Emergence and history of the castle system
Emergence and history of the factory

Short conception of the association
Homepage

The Association For the Preservation of Historic Buildings of Wrisbergholzen

Der Fliesensaal im Schloss Wrisbergholzen 

Fliesensaal Wrisbergholzen Das Schloss der Freiherren von Wrisbergholzen besitzt seit 1749 im linken Seitenflügel einen Saal, der mit ca. 80O Fliesen ausgestattet ist. Davon sind 68O sog. Emblemfliesen, wobei jeder Fliese im Format 23x27,5 cm jeweils eine Buchseite entspricht. Ausgehend von den Forschungsergebnissen von Martin Boyken und Horst Appuhn konnten die literarischen Vorlagen der Emblemfliesen nachgewiesen werden. Es sind vier Emblembücher von drei Autoren. Zunächst fast vollzählig die "Empresas politicas" des spanischen Diplomaten Diego Saavedra Fajardo (1584-1648>, dann die Embleme des Nürnberger Arztes Joachim Camerarius d.J. (1534-1598) und schließlich zwei Werke des niederländischen Künstlers und Lehrers von P.P. Rubens, nämlich Otto van Veen (1556- 1629> "Amorum emblemata" und "Emblemata Horatiana", ein neostoizistisches Buch.

EmblemflieseAls Maler der Fliesen, die in der dem Saal gegenüberliegenden Manufaktur hergestellt wurden, kann Johann Christoph Haase ermittelt werden, der hier am 18.10.1749 starb. Weitere Maler sind namentlich nicht nachgewiesen.

Im Unterschied zu den literarischen Vorlagen wird das dreiteilige Emblem (Motto, Bild und Epigramm) auf eine zweiteilige Form reduziert. Die verwendeten Sprachen sind Lateinisch, Französisch und Italienisch, sie verweisen auf drei Lebensbereiche, nämlich Diplomatie, Wissenschaft und Kunst.

Emblemfliese 2Da in Wrisbergholzen Dokumente über den Auftraggeber, das Bildprogramm und das Anbringen der Fliesen fehlen, muß die Entstehungsgeschichte rekonstruiert werden. Die Emblemfliesen sind Unikate, für den Saal im Schloss bestimmt. Der Saal diente nicht als Verhandlungsraum mit möglichen Kunden der Manufaktur; die Fliesen sind auch nicht als Schmuck aus übriggebliebenen Produkten anzusehen, sondern der Saal diente als (sommerlicher) Speisesaal für die freiherrliche, nach 1803 dann gräfliche Familie als eine "emblematische Gemüths-Vergnügung". Ideengeschichtlich kommt darin das Lebensgefühl einer kleinadeligen Familie mitten in der Aufklärungszeit zum Ausdruck.

Besonderes Interesse erweckt ein Zyklus von zwölf Monatsfliesen, für den es keine unmittelbare literarische Vorlage gibt. Er dürfle als eine emblematische Erfindung im Schloss selbst entworfen und in der Manufaktur entstanden sein.

Emblemfliese Im Laufe der Jahre wurde der Saal verschiedentlich baulich verändert. Dabei wurden einzelne Emblemfliesen vor allem an einer Schrankwand und der Kaminecke z.T. zerstört, z.T. an anderen Stellen neu angebracht. Inwieweit dadurch massiv in ein nur noch im Umriss erkennbares Bildprogramm eingegriffen wurde, kann nur vermutet werden. Dennoch darf der Fliesensaal von Wrisbergholzen als ein einzigartiges Beispiel der sog. angewandten, der außerliterarischen Emblematik nicht nur in Norddeutschland angesehen werden.

Literatur: 
Johannes B. Köhler, Angewandte Emblematik im Fliesensaal von Wrisbergholzen bei Hildesheim, A. Lax Verlag Hildesheim 1988 (ISBN 3-7848.3757-3);

Martin Boyken, Die Spruchfliesen von Wrisbergholzen, Zeitschrift des Museums zu Hildesheim, Heft 19, 1966; Verlag Gebr. Gerstenberg, Hildesheim.



Anmerkung: Dr. Johannes B. Köhler, Autor des obigen Artikels, ist Mitglied unseres Vereins und erläutert - im Wechsel mit weiteren fachkundigen Vereinsmitgliedern - den Fliesensaal bei den auf unserer Homepage genannten öffentlichen Besichtigungsterminen.

Historische Karte von 1589
Das Schloss - Übersicht mit Bildern
Entstehung und Geschichte der Schlossanlage
Entstehung und Geschichte der Manufaktur

Kurzvorstellung des Vereins
Homepage

Verein zur Erhaltung von Baudenkmalen in Wrisbergholzen e.V.